Make your own free website on Tripod.com

CAMP EVERETTE/GILCHRIST CABIN

 

This is a beautiful log cabin or retreat built by T. Everette Hogshead and located about half way between Carpenters Run and Rayburn Draft Road on the banks of Second Creek. It is also is stated to be located near Curries Mill. This property consisted of 3 A. 150p and a second tract of A.

 

T. Everette Hogshead sold this to Earl C. Watts on June 25, 1936. Deed Book 68 at page 290.

 

The complete description of the property was later shown in a deed recorded on July 10, 1940, between Hogshead and Watts. Deed Book 72 at page 283.

 

Another deed between Hogshead and Thomas and Pauline Black, the adjoining property owners, was recorded in Deed Book 72 at page 281, on June 29, 1940 that spells out the R/W and joint use of the creek and swimming holes.

 

Earl C. Watts sold the cabin and property to Paul C. Hogshead(Hogsette) and Mary T. Hogshead on April 14, 1945 as recorded in Deed Book 77 at page 442.

 

Paul C. Hogshead(Hogsette) and Mary T. Hogshead sold the property and cabin to Elaine Gilchrist on May 9, 1945 as recorded in Deed Book 77 at page 443.

 

This cabin and property remains in the Gilchrist family in the hands of the grandchildren(Pritt family)